Dad’s Old T = My Cute Tank

Here is my dad’s old Tshirt. Thanks to my mom who volunteered it.

I turned it inside out. I laid a knit (tshirt material) shirt on top of it that I wanted to copy. It is my sister’s shirt that I have borrowed a zillion times because it looks so cute on me.

Notice when I cut out the new shirt I cut about 1/2 an inch out on sides and armholes. I left that for seam allowance. And I also cut it longer at the hem for the same reason.


Next, I folded the front in half and copied the neckline. Again cutting about 1/2 an inch extra.
I did the same for the backside.


With the right sides together I pinned the sides and then sewed them a 1/2 inch in.

Around the neckline and armholes stitch 1/8 inch (1/4 is ok if you can’t find 1/8) elastic. To find out what length of elastic you need. Measure the openings length minus 1 in.
(I did not get a picture of this, sorry)

I cut heart shapes out of scrap tshirts. My favorite was a tshirt with sparkles on it that got ripped. You can cut any shape hearts, squares, circles. You can’t really tell what shapes they are afterwards anyway. My shapes were about 2 by 3 inches.

I overlapped the hearts along the neckline. Pinned them down. Then sewed a zig zag line all around the neckline.

And here is my beautiful finished product. The invisible shirt.

Leave a comment