Body Con Skirt from Yoga Pants

I recommend using pants with at least 5% spandex and the rest cotton. Mine happen to be 12% spandex. So, I am expecting a lot of hug a butt.

image

The tshirts are part of the Fringe Skirt here.

Cut the inseam. That is from inside ankle and the way up through the crotch and down the other inside of the led to the ankle.

image

Flip the pants inside out. Lay them out with front to front and back to back.

image

Working from the waist down, carefully, smooth out the layers and pin them together.

image

So we need to get rid of that extra crotch fabric and get a smoother line.

image

Now if you have a tailors curve that is great. If not just draw a straight line on the front. But, curve it out in the back to leave room for your tush.

I wanted to shorten this so I didn’t sew a tea length skirt when I just need a mini. I know I want it longer in the back so I marked a straight line from 14 3/4 inch in front to 15.5 in the back.

image

But, I actually cut it on a bit of a curve because I wanted it to be a little longer on the sides as well. So, it is only shorter in front a bit.

image

See that red triple line the sewing machine is set on. That is called a stretch stitch. A zig sag is supposed to work as well. But I never like the finish as well.

image

Stitch it along the white line and cut off the excess about 1/4 inch from the seam.

Flip it right side out and you are done!

image

I tried to get a photo of me in it but my 5 year old is still learning her photography skills.

I made this in order to make the fringe skirt here.

Leave a comment